Kayaking

Kayaking, a topic I could talk about for hours!!!

So, here’s the way it all began.

July 2016 my best friend sends me an email that has a gift attached to it.  My gift? A coupon for kayak rental on the Autrain River.  Are you serious?! I’m finally going to get to try my luck at kayaking!?  Now to some of you this gift would not be so amazing.  To me this was the best one ever.  You see, even though I had been talking about trying this sport out, I knew that this was not at the top of her list of things to do.  But because I wanted to try it, she was going to give it a whirl!

So, every day for the next couple weeks, this is all I thought about.  I kept asking if we could go yet and every time the answer was still “I have to work, I can’t that day, maybe this day”.  I was like a kid on Christmas waiting to be able to open the BIG present!

21eb1b8a49da55b09e1e323a8d7b5a8f5eb7d127c831b7e628e1a9e0e6e13822

FINALLY, the day had arrived and it was going to become a reality!  So, we drove the 45 minutes to the place where we would, unknowingly fall in love with the sport of kayaking.  With nervousness and anticipation we were given our gear and helped into the kayak and then shoved into the water!!  Now, I have to tell you, I was scared at this point.  What had I gotten myself into?!  For those of you that don’t know, I lost my nephew/my best friend, when he fell out of a canoe and drowned. And since that time, any small boat was terrifying to me but being the adventurer/rebel that I am, I knew that this was something I just had to try!  So, now I am in the middle of a river, in my yellow boat, my best friend by my side, and I don’t know how to even operate my paddle.  Well here goes nothing, or I guess everything really!!

We managed to figure out how to get ourselves going while trying to steer clear of all of the other kayakers.  Down the river we started, narrowly escaping others and sometimes almost running our kayaks onto shore.  But as we went, we learned to maneuver this piece of plastic and it became quite easy.

T

The next 3 1/2 hours were spent paddling and sometimes coasting down the 7 mile stretch of river, laughing and realizing that we might be falling in love with our new found sport.  The view was breathtakingly amazing!  I never knew that I could be so at peace with only a thin layer of plastic between me and the water.  It was simply amazing!!

As we got to the place where they would pull us back out of the water, we found ourselves wishing that it wasn’t coming to an end.  We had enjoyed it so much that the talk on the way back home was about how we needed to have our own kayaks and that we might need to buy them.  So, over the next few days this is all we talked about and then, WE WENT AND PURCHASED OUR VERY OWN!!

Since that day, 37 days ago, we have spent so much time on the water and discovered places and sights that we didn’t know existed.  The feeling of peace that you have when you see what God has created from a different perspective is truly indescribable.

This has definitely been the best summer that I have had in a long time and I am so thankful for my best friend’s willingness to put herself aside and give me a gift that has changed my life forever!!

As always, thanks for reading!!

I hope today has an amazing you and that you will get out and do something you have always wanted to do and change someone’s life 🙂

You can follow me and my adventures on

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

